> Low energy X-ray transmission sensor
 


The best choice when the cross profile must be finely controlled

Principle

This sensor is designed for the measurement of basis weight or thickness (when the density is constant) of relatively light or very light materials It is based on the transmission principle.

An X-ray tube located in the emitting head (source) produces a beam of X-rays which is detected and whose total energy (I0) is measured by the receiving head. When a material is placed in the space between the two heads (air-gap), part of the beam is absorbed, and only the transmitted fraction (I) is detected (fig. 1).



The transmitted beam is more or less attenuated according to the quantity of matter present in the gap. Figure 2 shows the relation between the thickness (constant density) and the remaining transmitted signal. The signal value is 100% when there is no material between the heads.

Knowing precisely this relation, and measuring, for a given material, the percentage of transmitted signal, one can determine the basis weight or thickness of homogeneous materials.

X-ray tube

An X-ray tube is an electric device which generates X-rays.
A filament (in red on figure 3) is heated by a current. It emits electrons around its surface. The target (in blue), is set to a positive voltage (accelerating voltage). The electrons are therefore accelerated and hit the target. The collisions cause the emission of X-rays. Obviously X-rays are emitted over 4π but are stopped by the tube wall except for those emitted through the window (in light blue).
The window material is selected to minimize X-ray absorption and an almost cylindrical beam of X-rays is formed (with a low taper angle of emission).

There are two principal advantages for using such a tube:

  • No emissions when the supply voltage is off. It is therefore very safe for maintenance interventions.
  • Selection of the beam energy which allows the measuring range to be optimized by adjustment of the accelerating voltage.


Detectors

Scantech develops and manufactures its own detectors. The detector of course is very important and to a large extent, it defines the performance level of the sensor. The control of detection technologies is one of the reasons for the high level of performance reached by Scantech X-ray sensors.

For proprietary reasons, Scantech does not disclose technical details about its detector technologies.


Characteristics

Scantech sensors have remarkable properties. It is the best solution for applications where a fast measurement and a precise profile are necessary, as in the case of controlling a die (e.g. cast and oriented films). They outperform by far infra-red or beta technologies.

Indeed, it is the only sensor to combine the following properties:

  • Astonishing range of measurement: For example with an energy level of less than 5kev (accelerating voltage lower than 5kVolts), polypropylene film from 2µm up to 2000µm can be precisely measured! This sensor reproduces very well the film edge shape of biaxially-oriented films (fig. 4 depicts a left edge).
    With a slightly higher energy level, the range of measurement is significantly extended. With 7kVolts one can reach 6 to 7kg/m2.
  • Excellent precision: At low energy levels, the X-ray absorption interaction with the measured matter is binary. An X-ray is either completely stopped, or it passes through the matter without any energy loss and with no deviation from its trajectory (as if there were no matter). Because of these only two possibilities one obtains the best possible statistics (binominal) and therefore the best accuracy. Figure 5 depicts the typical level of accuracy that can be obtained on a finished film with the measuring system controlling the die. It is a 6.6µm thin BOPP film (capacitor film). The finished film (5.5m wide) has a 0.026µm thickness standard deviation.
  • Very short response time: The scanner's excellent accuracy allows response times lower than 10 msec. Even at high scanning speeds, which are necessary to reduce the influence of the thickness variations in the machine direction, the profile is read correctly by the first scan. Thickness variations are seen with their real amplitude and are not smoothed at all. This is extremely important in order to have fast and effective die control.
  • The best streak resolution: The streak resolution is the best amongst all available technologies. For certain applications, Scantech has achieved resolutions of less than 0.2mm in the cross direction! The very straight X-ray beam, without any diffusion, makes such good streak resolution possible. The following figure depicts a profile zoom from a mesh application measurement, where the material pitch is 3mm. In order to obtain such a level of details the pencil beam width in the cross direction is collimated to 0.2mm!
  • Very easy to use: The sensor is very easy to use and no calibration is necessary for:
    • Any change in thickness or basis weight across the complete range.
    • Color changes.
    • Additive changes.
    Re-calibration can be performed in minutes when there is a change in filler proportion and then the new calibration coefficients are stored in a recipe.
  • Safe maintenance. There is no emission of X-rays when the sensor is not powered. Therefore there is no safety risk when performing maintenance.
  • In most cases, no administrative authorization is required. For a large majority of applications a voltage of less than 5kVolts is sufficient. In this case, there is no emission around the heads of the sensor. No prior approval, authorization, or regular annual control is required in whatever countries.

Design

Although this Scantech sensor is extremely simple to use, it is very difficult to design and requires a high level of expertise.

Scantech was the first company to introduce the x-ray technology into the market for the measurement of light materials (plastic, non-woven, etc.) even though the technology has been used with much higher energies for 40 years in metallurgical applications.

Scantech owns patents for the low energy technology sensors (less than 5keV) in principal countries, although the technology has been largely copied in recent years..

Nevertheless, Scantech is 15 years ahead in terms of technological developments in this field, and its sensors have reached an unequaled level of maturity:

  • There is no drift with time no matter what the variations are in temperature, pressure or moisture. There is no electronic drift (with a film of 20µm, the standard deviation on a 10 hours period is lower than 0.005µm).
  • No influences related to the temperature of the measured material. The sensor withstands material temperature changes without any variation of the measuring signal up to 40°C over the full web width at line speeds up to 550m/min.
  • The influence of relative misalignments of the sensor head during scanning is not significant. The measurement signal variation is less than 1/10000 for head misalignments up to 2mm!
  • Negligible influence of distance variations between the two sensor heads.

> Capteur par transmission de rayons X de basse énergie
 


Le meilleur choix quand le profil travers doit être régulé et contrôlé finement.

Principe.

Ce capteur est fait pour mesurer le grammage ou l’épaisseur (quand la densité est constante) de matériaux relativement légers voire très légers. Il fonctionne par transmission.

Un tube à rayons X situé dans la tête émettrice (source) délivre un faisceau de rayons X qui est détecté et dont l’énergie globale (I0) est mesurée par la tête réceptrice. Lorsqu’on interpose un matériau dans l’espace séparant les deux têtes (air-gap), une partie du faisceau est absorbé, et seule la fraction transmise (I) est alors détectée (fig. 1).



En fonction de la quantité de matière interposée, le faisceau transmis est plus ou moins atténué. La figure 2 montre la relation entre l’épaisseur (densité constante) et la proportion du signal transmis. Le signal vaut 100% quand il n’y a rien entre les têtes.

Connaissant cette relation précisément et mesurant, pour un matériau donné, le pourcentage de signal transmis, on peut déterminer la masse surfacique ou l’épaisseur pour les matériaux homogènes.

Tube à rayons X.

Un tube à rayons X est un composant électrique qui permet de générer des rayons X.
Un filament (en rouge sur la figure 3) est chauffé par un courant. Il émet des électrons en surface. La pièce en bleu, que l’on appelle cible, est portée à un potentiel positif (tension accélératrice). Les électrons sont alors accélérés vers la cible qu’ils viennent frapper. Les chocs causent l’émission de rayons X. Ils sont bien entendu émis sur 4p, mais sont arrêtés par l’enceinte du tube à l’exception de ceux émis au travers de la fenêtre en bleu clair (fenêtre constituée d’un matériau qui absorbe très peu les rayons X).
On forme ainsi un faisceau de rayons X presque cylindrique (faible angle du cône d’émission).

Il y a deux intérêts principaux à utiliser un tel tube:

  • Pas d’émission lorsque la tension d’alimentation est coupée. C’est donc un gage de sûreté pour les interventions de maintenance.
  • On sélectionne l’énergie du faisceau, et donc l’adaptation à la gamme de mesure, en ajustant la tension accélératrice.


Détecteurs.

Scantech développe et fabrique ses propres détecteurs. Le détecteur joue bien entendu un rôle très important et, pour une large part, il défini le niveau de performance du capteur. La maitrise des technologies de détection est une des raisons du haut niveau de performance atteint par les capteurs X de Scantech.

Nous ne donnons pas de détail technique sur les technologies de détection utilisées.


Caractéristiques.

Nos capteurs ont des propriétés remarquables. C’est de beaucoup la meilleure solution ), loin devant les solutions Infra Rouge ou Bêta, pour les applications où une mesure rapide et un profil précis est nécessaire, comme c’est le cas lorsqu’il faut piloter une filière (film Cast, film Bi-orienté.

En effet, c’est le seul capteur à combiner les propriétés suivantes:

  • Gamme de mesure étonnante. Par exemple avec une énergie inférieure à 5kev (tension accélératrice inférieure à 5kVolts), on peut mesurer très précisément du film polypropylène entre 2µm et 2000µm! Ce capteur rend très bien compte de la forme des lisières des films bi-orientés (la fig. 4 montre une lisière gauche).
    Avec des tensions légèrement supérieures, la gamme de mesure s’étend très vite. Avec 7kVolts on peut atteindre 6 à 7kg/m2.
  • Excellente précision. A basse énergie, le mode d’absorption des rayons X avec la matière est binaire. Un rayon X est soit complètement arrêté, soit il passe au travers la matière sans altération de son énergie et de sa trajectoire (comme s’il n’y avait pas de matière). Il n’y a que ces deux possibilités, ce qui donne la meilleure statistique possible (statistique binomiale) et donc la meilleure précision. La figure 5 montre la précision typique qui peut être obtenue sur un film fini, le système de mesure pilotant la filière. Il s’agit d’un film BOPP (capacitor film) de 6,6µm. Le film fini (5,5m de large) montre un écart type de 0,026µm sur l’épaisseur.
  • Très court temps de réponse. L’excellente précision permet des temps de réponse inférieurs à 10 msec. Même avec des vitesses de scanning élevées, ce qui est nécessaire pour réduire l’influence des variations d’épaisseur dans le sens machine, le profil est lu correctement au premier scanning. Les variations d’épaisseurs sont vues avec leur amplitude réelle et ne sont pas du tout lissées ce qui est de première importance pour un pilotage rapide et efficace d’une filière.
  • La meilleure résolution spatiale. La résolution spatiale est la meilleure parmi toutes les technologies disponibles. Pour certaines applications Scantech a déjà expérimenté des résolutions de moins de 0,2mm dans le sens travers! C’est le faisceau de rayons X, très droit, sans diffusion, qui permet d’obtenir des résolutions spatiales aussi bonnes. La figure suivante est un agrandissement d’un profil obtenu sur un matériau aillant une structure en grille. Dans le sens travers la structure a un pas de 3mm. Pour obtenir ce niveau de détail les mesures ont une résolution de 0,2mm.
  • Facilité d’utilisation. Ce capteur est très facile d’utilisation car aucune calibration n’est nécessaire pour:
    • Un changement d’épaisseur ou de grammage quelconque sur toute la gamme.
    • Différentes couleurs.
    • Différents additifs.
    Il se calibre en une minute lorsqu’on change la proportion de charge et les coefficients sont gardés en recette.
  • Pas de problème de maintenance. Il n’y a pas d’émission de rayons X quand le capteur est hors tension. Il n’y a donc pas de risque lors d’intervention sur le capteur.
  • Pas de formalité administrative ni autorisation légale dans la plupart des cas.Pour la grande majorité des applications, une haute tension inférieure à 5kVolts est suffisante. Il n’y a alors aucune émission autour des têtes du capteur. Aucune approbation, autorisation, aucun contrôle ne sont alors nécessaires quels que soient la législation et le pays d’installation.

Design.

Bien que ce capteur soit extrêmement simple d’utilisation, son design est difficile et nécessite beaucoup d’expérience.

Scantech a été la première société à proposer cette technologie pour le marché des matériaux légers (plastiques, non-tissés…) bien qu’elle ait été utilisée en sidérurgie, à des énergies plus élevées, pour la mesure de bandes en acier.

Scantech est dépositaire des brevets protégeant cette technologie en dessous de 5keV dans les principaux pays, même si elle a été largement copiée ces dernières années.

Il n’en reste pas moins que Scantech a 15 ans d’avance dans ce domaine. Nos capteurs ont donc atteint un niveau de maturité inégalé:

  • Pas de dérive dans le temps quel que soit les variations de température, de pression, d’humidité. Pas de dérive électronique (pour un film de 20µm, l’écart type sur une tendance de 10 heures est inférieure à 0,005µm).
  • Pas de d’influence liée à la température de la matière. Le capteur supporte des écarts de température, sans variation de signal, de 40°C sur le travers de la laize, et ce même pour des vitesses ligne pouvant atteindre 550m/min.
  • Influence négligeable due au désalignement des têtes émettrice et réceptrice. Variation du signal inférieure à moins de 1/10000, pour des désalignements pouvant atteindre 2mm!
  • Influence négligeable des variations de distance entre les têtes.