> Sensors
 


There are many types of sensors for online measurement and they can be classified into two (2) families:

  • 1. Sensors that contact the measured material
  • 2. Non-contact sensors

Scantech offers only the latter category: non-contact sensors. These sensors satisfy the vast majority of applications by means of the following four (4) technologies:

  • 1. X-ray Sensors: Scantech is the leader in this technology and was the first to introduce in 1992 an x-ray sensor for the thickness measurement of plastic films and in 1993 for the weight of non-woven materials.
    X-ray sensors are used, almost exclusively, for the measurement of the thickness of metal sheet.
  • 2. Infrared Sensors: Scantech systematically uses these type of sensors to measure the thickness of barrier layers of multi-layer films, and often use them for the measurement of coating weights and humidity.
  • 3. Beta Radiation Sensors: It is a technology that Scantech offers as a last resort when it is the best compromise for the measurement of thickness or weight. Beta sensors use a radioactive source which causes more and more difficulties for customers regarding legal compliances.
  • 4. Laser Triangulation Sensors: Scantech has developed its own proprietary design. This sensor is used for measuring the thickness of inhomogeneous materials (i.e. variable density, layers of very different nature, foam…). Theses sensors can also quantify the material surface such as roughness.


Different types of sensors can be coupled on the same scanner in order to achieve other measurements. For example, an X-ray sensor coupled with a Laser triangulation sensor can measure the density of a material.

All Scantech sensors are interfaced through the internal scanner bus and possess a local intelligence allowing the direct digitization of the sensor signals and the pre-processing of measurements.

> Capteurs
 


Beaucoup de capteurs existent pour la mesure en ligne et peuvent se classer en deux familles:

  • 1. Les capteurs où la mesure s’effectue par contact avec le matériau.
  • 2. Les capteurs sans contact.

Scantech ne propose que la seconde catégorie des capteurs sans contact. A ce jour notre offre couvre une grande majorité d’applications à partir de quatre technologies:

  • 1.Les capteurs à rayons X. Nous sommes leader dans cette technologie. Nous l’avons introduite pour la première fois dés 1992 pour la mesure d’épaisseur des films plastiques et en 1993 pour le grammage des matériaux non-tissés.
    Elle est presque exclusivement utilisée pour la mesure d’épaisseur des tôles métalliques.
  • 2.Les capteurs Infra Rouge.Nous les utilisons systématiquement pour la mesure d’épaisseur de couches barrières des films multi couches, très souvent pour la mesure de grammage de revêtements et aussi pour la mesure de taux d’humidité.
  • 3.Les capteurs à rayonnement Bêta. C’est une technologie que nous ne proposons qu’en dernier recours quand effectivement elle présente le meilleur compromis pour la mesure d’épaisseur ou de grammage. Les capteurs Bêta contiennent une source radioactive qui pose de plus en plus problèmes administratifs aux clients.
  • 4.Nous utilisons des capteurs à triangulation laser, de notre conception, pour la mesure d’épaisseur de matériaux inhomogènes (densité variable, couches de natures très différentes, mousses…). Ils permettent aussi de quantifier des états de surface comme la rugosité par exemple.


Des capteurs peuvent être couplés sur le même Scanner de façon à atteindre d’autres grandeurs. Par exemple un capteur rayons X, couplé à un capteur à triangulation laser permet d’obtenir la densité d’un matériau.

Tous nos capteurs s’interfacent sur le bus interne de nos scanners et disposent d’une intelligence locale qui permet de directement numériser les signaux et de pré traiter les mesures.