> Infra Red Transmission Sensor (NIR4)
 


The best choice for measuring individual layers

Principle of operation

Infrared (IR) sensors are designed to measure the weight or thickness (when density is constant) of constant composition materials or specific layers of multiple layer materials. It's also well suited for measuring the moisture content of relatively light materials with densities up to 200g/m2.

A light source located in the head emits a light spectrum having frequencies extending into the infrared region. Four detectors located in the NIR4 receiving head, and fitted with different input filters, selectively measure different infrared wavelengths. The signal from each detector is compared with and without material between the heads. Although more complex than measurement by x-ray or beta absorption, IR is also a transmission method.

The absorption is due to the different vibration modes of the molecules constituting the material. When the wavelength matches a molecular vibration mode, the energy is strongly absorbed. When the mass of material increases, so is the absorption. Conversely, wavelengths that do not correspond to a molecular vibration mode are poorly absorbed. Therefore each material is characterized by a specific infrared spectrum.

For example, below is the spectrum of a 190μm polyester film and its chemical formula.



The measurement of a given material is first done by selecting a suitable absorption peak. The peak’s height is a measure of the absorption and is therefore an indirect measurement of the material amount. It is clear that this method is much more complex than other absorption techniques where the detector signal, representing the energy absorbed, is itself enough to make the measurement.

First the proper wavelength must be physically selected by filtering the light by means of a specific filter. Then the background under the peak must be removed to improve the signal to noise ratio. Figure 2 shows in red the wavelength of the peak, in the green part of the spectrum that must be removed, and in blue the effective absorption.


To determine the effective absorption other wavelengths are necessary. Therefore a single measurement requires multiple detectors each with a specific filter selecting the required wavelength.

The effective absorption is then related to the basis weight or thickness by the Beer Lambert law (exponential decay) for which one has to determine the attenuation coefficient (figure 3).


The principle of infrared transmission dictates that the detector must be configured for each given material. This is of course a strong limitation, but it is also a very interesting feature since it can be used to selectively measure layers provided that the IR spectra differs sufficiently from layer to layer. The measurement of humidity is another example where the sensor is configured to measure the vibration mode of water molecules.

Single-spot measurement

To simplify, there are two possible implementations:

  • 1. Wavelengths can be selected in the emitter. In this case the filters must be placed one after the other in the light beam. This necessitates a rotating device inside the transmitter. Hence a single detector is sufficient in the receiving head. The great disadvantage of this design is that the measurement is not punctual. Thickness variations, if present during the rotation cycle, will introduce errors in the measurement.
  • 2. Wavelengths can be selected in the receiver. The transmitter is much simpler, the measurement is punctual, but it is necessary to have as many detectors as wavelengths.

Scantech selected this second solution in order to have a single spot measurement independent of line speed.

Characteristics

  • Measuring ranges: Scantech sensors operate in an extended wavelength range from 1 to 4μm. This provides more choices when selecting absorption peaks and widens the overall measurement range. Indeed, the attenuation coefficients are different from one peak to another. Therefore some peaks can be assigned to certain thickness ranges. For example, for polypropylene a first set of filters is well suited for low thickness (below 30 / 35μm). A second set allows measurements up to several hundred microns. In general the chosen peak, hence the set of filter, will depend on the desired measuring range and obviously on the nature of the material.
  • Good accuracy: The NIR4 sensor offer good accuracy. Their intrinsic noise is especially low and the resolution is about 0.1 g/m2 for small weights (below 50g/m2).
  • Very short response time: The intrinsic response time and the data processing time are very short. Individual measurements are averaged over steps corresponding to 10msec. sampling time. This avoids any artificial smoothing effect of the profile.
  • Good streak resolution: The streak resolution is related to the spot size and is about 10 to 12 mm.
  • Emitter: Rather than using a lamp with a short lifespan and whose efficiency very poor, Scantech uses diodes.
  • No paperwork or legal authorizations: Rather than using a lamp with a short lifespan and whose efficiency very poor, Scantech uses diodes.

Design

Our design has the following major benefits:

  • Single spot measurements.
  • No drift over time regardless of variations in temperature, pressure and humidity. No electronic drift (for a film of 20μm, the standard deviation for a trend of 10 hours is less than 0.02 μm).
  • No influence due to variations in ambient temperature.
  • An air gap of at least 4cm.
  • Negligible influence due to misalignment of heads.
  • Negligible influence of variations in the distance between heads.
  • Not sensitive to variations in the intensity of ambient light.
  • Not sensitive to light interferences.

> Capteur par transmission à Infra Rouge (NIR4)
 


Le meilleur choix pour la mesure sélective de couche.

Principle.

Ce capteur est fait pour mesurer le grammage ou l’épaisseur (quand la densité est constante) de matériaux de composition constante ou de couches spécifiques de matériaux multi couches. Il est aussi très intéressant pour mesurer le taux d’humidité de matériaux relativement légers jusqu’environ 200g/m2.

Une source de lumière, située dans la tête émettrice, délivre un spectre dont une partie des fréquences se situe dans l’infra rouge. Quatres détecteurs situés dans la tête réceptrice du NIR4, et munis d’un filtre différent en entrée, mesurent sélectivement différentes longueurs d’onde dans l’infra rouge. Le signal de chaque détecteur est comparé avec et sans matériau interposé entre les têtes. Bien que plus complexe que la mesure par absorption de rayons X ou l’absorption de rayons bêtas, il s’agit aussi d’une méthode par transmission.

L’absorption est due aux modes de vibrations des différentes molécules présentes dans le matériau. Quand une longueur d’onde correspond à l’énergie d’un mode de vibration elle est fortement absorbée, et plus la masse de matière interposée est élevée plus l’absorption est importante. Inversement une longueur d’onde ne correspondant à aucun mode de vibration est très peu absorbée. Chaque matière présente donc un spectre infra rouge typique qui la caractérise.

En exemple nous donnons le spectre d’un film de 190µm de polyester.



Il suffit alors de sélectionner un pic d’absorption bien particulier. Sa hauteur est une mesure de l’absorption par la matière donc une mesure indirecte de la quantité de matière interposée. On voit tout de suite que la situation est beaucoup plus complexe que pour les autres techniques d’absorption où le signal représentant l’énergie perdue dans le détecteur suffit seul à effectuer la mesure.

Il faut premièrement sélectionner la bonne longueur d’onde ce qui implique de filtrer physiquement la lumière de l’émetteur à l’aide d’un filtre spécifique. Il faut ensuite s’affranchir du fond sous le pic qui pollue la mesure. La figure 2 représente la longueur d’onde du pic en rouge, en vert la partie du spectre qui doit être enlevée et en bleu l’absorption effective.


Pour déterminer l’absorption effective d’autres longueurs d’ondes sont nécessaires. C’est pourquoi une seule mesure nécessite plusieurs détecteurs chacun ayant un filtre sélectionnant une longueur d’onde requise.

L’absorption effective est alors liée à la masse surfacique ou à l’épaisseur par une relation de Berr Lambert (décroissance exponentielle) dont on doit déterminer le coefficient d’atténuation (figure 3)


Le principe de la transmission infra rouge implique que le détecteur soit préparé pour la mesure d’un matériau donné. C’est une limitation bien entendue, mais c’est en même temps une propriété très intéressante puisque l’on peut mesurer sélectivement les couches à condition que les spectres IR différent suffisamment d’une couche à l’autre. La mesure d’humidité est un autre exemple ou le détecteur est préparé pour mesurer un mode de vibration de la molécule d’eau.

Mesures ponctuelles.

Il y a, pour simplifier, deux mises en œuvre possibles:

  • 1. On peut sélectionner les longueurs d’onde dans l’émetteur. Dans ce cas il faut interposer les filtres les uns après les autres dans la lumière de la source. Cela impose un dispositif mécanique mobile dans l’émetteur. Par contre un seul détecteur suffit dans la tête réceptrice. Le grand désavantage de cette conception est que la mesure n’est pas ponctuelle. La matière se déplace pendant le temps de passage de l’ensemble des filtres devant la source. S’il y a des variations d’épaisseurs durant ce temps, la mesure finale est complètement faussée.
  • 2. On sélectionne les longueurs d’onde dans le récepteur. L’émetteur est beaucoup plus simple mais il faut alors avoir autant de détecteur que de longueurs d’ondes. Scantech a choisi la seconde solution pour avoir une mesure ponctuelle indépendamment de la vitesse de ligne.

Scantech a choisi la seconde solution pour avoir une mesure ponctuelle indépendamment de la vitesse de ligne.

Caractéristiques.

  • Gammes de mesure. Nos capteurs fonctionnent sur une plage de longueur d’onde étendue de 1 à 4µm. Cela permet un meilleur choix quand à la sélection des pics d’absorptions et donc d’étendre globalement les gammes de mesure. En effet les coefficients d’atténuation sont différents d’un pic à un autre. On peut donc en conséquence affecter certains pics à certaines plages d’épaisseur. Par exemple, pour le polypropylène, un premier jeu de filtres est bien adapté aux faibles épaisseurs (en dessous de 30 / 35µm). Un second permet des mesures jusque plusieurs centaines de µm. D’une manière générale le chois du pic, donc du jeu de filtre, va dépendre de la plage de mesure recherchée et évidemment de la nature du matériau.
  • Bonne précision. Le capteur NIR4 offrent une bonne précision. Le bruit intrinsèque de mesure est particulièrement faible et la résolution est de l’ordre de 0,1g/m2 pour les faibles grammages (en dessous de 50g/m2).
  • Très court temps de réponse.Les temps de réponse intrinsèques et le temps de calcul des mesures sont très courts. On moyenne les mesures individuelles sur des pas qui correspondent à des temps de l’ordre de 10msec. On évite ainsi tout effet de lissage artificiel du profil.
  • Bonne résolution spatiale.La résolution spatiale est liée à la taille du spot soit environ 10 à 12 mm.
  • Emetteur. Plutôt que d’utiliser une lampe dont la durée de vie est réduite et dont l’efficacité est très mauvaise, nous utilisons des diodes.
  • Pas de formalité administrative ni autorisation légale. Ces capteurs ne présentent aucun danger pour la sécurité des utilisateurs ni pour le personnel de maintenance. Aucune formalité administrative ni autorisation d’aucune sorte n’est nécessaire à sa détention et à son utilisation.

Design.

Notre conception présente les grands avantages suivants:

  • Mesures ponctuelles
  • Pas de dérive dans le temps quel que soient les variations de température, de pression et d’humidité. Pas de dérive électrique (pour un film de 20µm, l’écart type sur une tendance de 10 heures est inférieure à 0,02µm).
  • Pas de d’influence liée aux variations de température d’air.
  • Entrefer d’au moins 4cm.
  • Influence due au désalignement entre têtes émettrice et réceptrice négligeable.
  • Influence négligeable des variations de distance entre les têtes.
  • Désensibilisation aux variations d’intensité de la lumière ambiante.
  • Désensibilisation aux interférences lumineuses.